LIMPOPO RENTAL HOUSING TRIBUNAL -A CHAMPION FOR THE RIGHTS OF TENANTS AND LANDLORDS



Meet New Members of the Board, Front row (Left to right): Ms Patricia Mugivhi, Mr Jan Thubakgale (Chairperson) and Ms Faith Mathebula (Deputy Chairperson) Back row: (Left to right): Mr Nandu Malumbete, Mr Hans Mamabolo and Mr Cedrick Balovi. N.B. Ms Setati (Nare) J.M was not available when the above picture was taken.

In an effort to protect tenants and landlords against unfair and unlawful housing rental practices, the Limpopo Department of Cooperative Governance, Human Settlements and Traditional Affairs (CoGSHTA) established the Limpopo Rental Housing Tribunal in terms of the Rental Housing Act no. 50 of 1999.

The statutory body's objectives also include

promoting the resolution of disputes without recourse to courts while ensuring timeous and effective resolution of complaints lodged. It is through this body that tenants and landlords are educated regarding their rights and obligations.

The Limpopo Rental Housing Tribunal provides free services to tenants and landlords in the

province that range from receiving and investigating complaints, the informal facilitation of agreements, resolving of disputes through mediation and hearing to provision of advice and information regarding lease agreements. The Rental Housing Tribunal consists of seven (07) members.